Julietta Wolf-Foster Outstanding Consultant Award

The Julietta Wolf-Foster Outstanding Writing Consultant Award recognizes the consultant who most captures Julietta's exceptional qualities as a writing educator. 

Julietta was a senior consultant in the writing center and one of the first and longest-standing members of our community. Julietta approached every situation with kindness, tremendous wisdom, deep understanding of all aspects of writing, a special ability to meet the needs of a wide range of students, and a gentleness that at once conveyed “I can help” and “let’s get to work.” She was the quintessential go-to tutor.

We miss her deeply, but know that this award holds up her ongoing presence and spirit in the writing program.

2024 Winners - Claire Corbeaux and Liz Phinney

This year we received thirty-eight nominations for the 2024 Julietta Wolf-Foster Outstanding Writing Consultant Award. The nominations speak to the tremendous dedication and success of our staff of writing consultants. All the nominees were highly deserving, but, based on the nominations from student writers, there were two candidates who stood out: Claire Corbeaux and Liz Phinney. The numerous nominations each of them received speak to their knowledge, insightful guidance, patience, and kindness. Much like Julietta was, Claire and Liz are incredibly dedicated tutors who do all they can to help writers meet their goals. We hope you’ll all join us in congratulating Claire and Liz. We are thrilled to be able to recognize their outstanding work with this award!


Nominations for the 2024 Julietta Wolf-Foster Outstanding Writing Consultant Award are welcome from all members of the University community and will be accepted through April 8, 2024, with the award presented yearly in April.

To nominate a consultant, please submit this simple form.

Past Years' Winners

  • 2024: Claire Corbeaux and Liz Phinney
  • 2023: Claire Becker
  • 2022: Emily Lowman
  • 2021: Caitlin Davie
  • 2020: Zach Powell
  • 2019: Kelley Annesley
  • 2018: Abby Brengle and Anna Alden
  • 2017: Hilary Wermers
  • 2016: Emily Kohlhase
  • 2015: Mike Van Meter
  • 2014: Steve Burger