Writing, Speaking,
and Argument Program

About Us

Contact Us

Main Office:

Writing, Speaking and Argument Program
PO Box 270058
Rochester, NY 14627

Rush Rhees Library, G-121
(585) 273-3584
(585) 273-3577 (Writing and Speaking Center)
(585) 273-4873 (Fax)
wsap@ur.rochester.edu
Hours: Monday–Friday, 8 a.m.–noon; 1 p.m.–5 p.m.

Other Locations:

Instructor Offices and Computer Lab
Rush Rhees Library, 304 & G-138

EAPP Offices
Rush Rhees Library, G-138

Fellows' Offices
Rush Rhees Library, G-119
Susan B. Anthony Hall, Gates 166
Carlson Library, 1st floor

Office Staff:

Wendy Michael
Administrative Assistant
(585) 273-1808
wmichael@ur.rochester.edu

Raechel Crosby
Secretary
(585) 273-3577
rcrosby2@ur.rochester.edu

Anna Alden
Secretary and Writing Center Assistant
(585) 273-3577
aalden@ur.rochester.edu

Andrew Holderbaum
Web and Database Developer
(585) 276-3854
aholderb@ur.rochester.edu

Program Administrators and Faculty:

Deborah Rossen-Knill, M.F.A., Ph.D.
WSAP Director
Associate Professor
(585) 273-3583
deb.rossen-knill@rochester.edu

Stefanie Sydelnik, Ph.D.
Associate Director
Lecturer in Writing
(585) 273-3584
stefanie.sydelnik@rochester.edu 

G. Paige Sloan
Undergraduate EAPP Director
Lecturer in Writing
(585) 276-6979
paige.sloan@rochester.edu

Matthew Bayne, Ph.D.
Writing Placement Coordinator
Lecturer in Writing
(585) 273-3584
writingplacement@ur.rochester.edu 

Rachel Lee, Ph.D.
Graduate Writing Project Coordinator
Lecturer in Writing
(585) 273-3581
rachel.lee@rochester.edu 

Liz Tinelli, Ph.D.
Graduate Writing Project Co-Coordinator
Lecturer in Writing, EAPP
(585) 276-5279

Dan Nolte
Writing Fellows President
dnolte@u.rochester.edu

Catherine Schmied Towsley
Lecturer in Writing
(585) 273-3584
catherine.towsley@rochester.edu

Katherine Schaefer, Ph.D.
Writing in the Majors Coordinator
Lecturer in Writing
(585) 276-5685
katherine.schaefer@rochester.edu

Stella Wang, Ph.D.
Lecturer in Writing
(585) 273-2474
stella.wang@rochester.edu

Whitney Gegg-Harrison, Ph.D.
Lecturer in Writing
(585) 275-5363
whitney.gegg.harrison@gmail.com

Amy Arbogast, Ph.D.
Speaking Center Coordinator
Lecturer in Speaking and Writing
(585) 273-3584
aarbogas@ur.rochester.edu

Kate Phillips, Ph.D.
Lecturer in Writing
(585) 273-3854
kphilli6@ur.rochester.edu

Dustin Hannum, Ph.D.
Lecturer in Writing
(585) 273-3584
dhannum@ur.rochester.edu

Justin Coyne, Ph.D.
Lecturer in Writing
jcoyne2@ur.rochester.edu

Bill Rowley, Ph.D.
Lecturer in Writing
william.rowley@rochester.edu

Adam Stauffer, Ph.D.
Lecturer in Writing
astauff2@ur.rochester.edu

Laura Whitebell
Lecturer in Writing
laura.bell@rochester.edu

Karl Mohn
Lecturer in Writing

Denise Malloy, Ph.D.
Lecturer in Writing
dmalloy3@ur.rochester.edu