Skip to main content

About Us

Contact Us

Main Office:

Writing, Speaking and Argument Program
PO Box 270058
Rochester, NY 14627

Rush Rhees Library, G-122
(585) 273-3584
(585) 273-3577 (Writing and Speaking Center)
(585) 273-4873 (Fax)
wsap@ur.rochester.edu
Hours: Monday–Friday, 8:30 a.m.–noon; 1 p.m.–5 p.m.

Other Locations:

Instructor Offices
Rush Rhees Library, G-121, G-122, G-138

EAPP Offices
Rush Rhees Library, G-138

Fellows' Offices
Rush Rhees Library, G-119
Susan B. Anthony Hall, Gates 166
Genesee Hall, 1st floor

Office Staff:

Emily Judd
Administrative and Financial Coordinator
(585) 273-1808
emily.judd@rochester.edu

Raechel Crosby
Secretary
(585) 273-3577
rcrosby2@ur.rochester.edu

Anna Alden
Secretary and Writing Center Assistant
(585) 273-3577
aalden@ur.rochester.edu

Andrew Holderbaum
Web and Database Developer
(585) 276-3854
aholderb@ur.rochester.edu

Program Administrators and Faculty:

Deborah Rossen-Knill, M.F.A., Ph.D.
WSAP Director
Associate Professor
(585) 273-3583
deb.rossen-knill@rochester.edu

Stefanie Sydelnik, Ph.D.
Associate Director
Associate Professor
(585) 273-3584
stefanie.sydelnik@rochester.edu 

G. Paige Sloan
Undergraduate EAPP Director
Associate Professor
(585) 276-6979
paige.sloan@rochester.edu

Matthew Bayne, Ph.D.
Writing Placement Coordinator
Assistant Professor
(585) 273-3584
writingplacement@ur.rochester.edu 

Rachel Lee, Ph.D.
Graduate Writing Project Coordinator
Assistant Professor
(585) 273-3581
rachel.lee@rochester.edu 

Liz Tinelli, Ph.D.
Graduate Writing Project Co-Coordinator
Associate Professor, EAPP
(585) 276-5279

Dan Nolte
Writing Fellows President
dnolte@u.rochester.edu

Catherine Schmied Towsley
Assistant Professor
(585) 273-3584
catherine.towsley@rochester.edu

Katherine Schaefer, Ph.D.
Writing in the Majors Coordinator
Associate Professor
(585) 276-5685
katherine.schaefer@rochester.edu

Stella Wang, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
(585) 273-2474
stella.wang@rochester.edu

Whitney Gegg-Harrison, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
(585) 275-5363
whitney.gegg.harrison@gmail.com

Amy Arbogast, Ph.D.
Speaking Center Coordinator
Assistant Professor
(585) 273-3584
aarbogas@ur.rochester.edu

Kate Phillips, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
(585) 273-3854
kphilli6@ur.rochester.edu

Dustin Hannum, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
(585) 273-3584
dhannum@ur.rochester.edu

Justin Coyne, Ph.D.
Lecturer
jcoyne2@ur.rochester.edu

Bill Rowley, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
william.rowley@rochester.edu

Adam Stauffer, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
astauff2@ur.rochester.edu

Laura Whitebell
Lecturer
laura.bell@rochester.edu

Karl Mohn
Assistant Professor
kmohn@ur.rochester.edu

Denise Malloy, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
dmalloy3@ur.rochester.edu